ECOS Magnolia and Lily Liquid Laundry Detergent Review: 100 Ounces and a Safer Choice Certification

  • A 100 fluid ounce bottle of ECOS liquid laundry detergent in Magnolia and Lily, rated by the manufacturer at 100 loads.
  • The EPA Safer Choice certification is a named program with published criteria, which makes it stronger than the usual green wording.
  • Climate positive, sustainable, vegan and cruelty free are ECOS claims with no certifying body named on the listing.
  • Hypoallergenic and dermatologist tested are the manufacturer’s claims, and hypoallergenic has no regulatory definition in the United States.
  • The listing does not state whether the detergent is high efficiency compatible, so check the bottle before using it in a front loader.
SKU: B004RSOAHU Category:

Description

The bottle, the load count and the household it suits

ECOS liquid laundry detergent in the Magnolia and Lily scent is sold as a 100 fluid ounce bottle rated for 100 loads. Earth Friendly Products is the manufacturer, the listing dates to July 2010, and Amazon places it 368,200th in Health and Household and 1,653rd among liquid laundry detergents. Those are quiet ranks for a brand with this much shelf presence.

One hundred loads from one hundred fluid ounces means a stated dose of one fluid ounce per load, which is a small measure by mainstream standards. Take it as the manufacturer’s rating rather than as a guarantee: load size, soil level and water hardness all change what a wash actually needs, and the cap on the bottle is the practical guide.

The household this is aimed at is one that prioritizes a shorter, gentler ingredient profile and a scent from the softer end of the range, and is prepared to accept that a detergent built this way generally works harder in warm water and on light to moderate soil than on heavy grease and outdoor dirt.

The one green claim on this listing that is actually substantiated

Most environmental claims in this catalog are unsupported adjectives. This one is different and it deserves credit. ECOS states that the product is EPA Safer Choice certified. Safer Choice is a program run by the United States Environmental Protection Agency with published criteria: a product carrying the label has had every intentionally added ingredient reviewed against the program’s requirements. That is a specific, checkable claim tied to a named authority, and it is a far stronger thing than a bottle calling itself green.

The other claims on the page are ordinary marketing and should be attributed. Plant powered, climate positive and sustainable are ECOS’s own wording. Vegan and cruelty free are the company’s assertions with no certifying body named on the page. The statement that the detergent contains no ingredients that can pollute water when it enters the ecosystem is a broad environmental claim, and the FTC Green Guides expect general benefit claims of that kind to be substantiated rather than asserted.

The factory claims are worth separating out too. Carbon neutral, water neutral, TRUE Platinum Zero Waste and one hundred percent renewable energy are statements about how ECOS runs its plants, not about what is in the bottle. They may well be accurate and they are still not product performance.

What is not published

For all of that, the listing itself carries no ingredient statement. The description field contains only the words Magnolia and Lily Liquid Laundry Detergent. No surfactant is named, no enzyme is named, no preservative is named and no pH figure is given. The Safer Choice program requires ingredient disclosure from participating companies, so the information exists, but this page does not reproduce it. Read the bottle.

Skin claims, and who is making them

ECOS describes the detergent as dermatologist tested and hypoallergenic, and says it is suitable for families with skin allergies and sensitivities. Those are the manufacturer’s claims. Hypoallergenic has no regulatory definition in the United States and no agency certifies it. Dermatologist tested confirms testing happened and says nothing about the finding. This site makes no claim about how any detergent will behave on any individual’s skin, and anyone with a real sensitivity should patch test a garment rather than trust a word on a label.

The specification block adds a field reading “Manufacturer recommended age: 1 month and up”, which is not a meaningful entry for a laundry detergent and reads as a data import error rather than an instruction. Do not take it as guidance about infant clothing. Another mismatch sits in the first feature bullet, headed climate positive and sustainable, whose actual text is about being kind to sensitive skin and pH balanced. The heading and the body describe different things.

Fabrics, machines and the compatibility question the listing skips

Nothing on this page says whether the detergent is high efficiency compatible. That is a significant omission on a modern laundry product, because a high sudsing detergent in a low water machine cushions the load, rinses out poorly and can leave residue. Check the bottle before using it in a front loader or a high efficiency top loader, and dose down rather than up if in doubt.

On fabrics, a general purpose detergent of this kind suits cottons, linens and synthetics. Wool and silk are protein fibers that general purpose enzymes and alkalis attack, and both need a fiber specific product regardless of how gentle a detergent claims to be. A wool and delicates specific detergent is the format for those.

There is no optical brightener implied anywhere in the claims, and none is named. If whites appearing brighter is what you are buying, a detergent without brighteners will not deliver that visual effect, and a separate oxygen based treatment does that job instead.

Dosing, storage and safety

Dose to the cap line for the load size rather than filling the cap, which is the most common source of residue on clothing and buildup inside a machine. Pour it into the drum or the dispenser according to your machine’s manual, and rinse the cap occasionally so it does not gum shut.

Store the bottle upright, capped, at room temperature and out of reach of children and pets. Liquid detergent is an irritant and a bottle with a wide cap invites a spill. Never mix it in a bucket with another cleaning product, and never combine any laundry product with a chlorine bleach and an ammonia based cleaner in the same space, since that pairing releases chloramine gas. If detergent buildup has already accumulated in the machine, run a dedicated cleaner such as the Lemi Shine washing machine cleaner on an empty hot cycle rather than adding more detergent.

Cost per load and the alternatives

At a stated ounce per load, a 100 ounce bottle is 100 loads, which makes cost per load simple arithmetic and easy to compare. The honest caveat is that anyone washing heavily soiled clothing will use more than an ounce, so the real figure will be worse than the printed one.

Within the same brand, the ECOS detergent sheets trade the jug for a dry format with a lower shipping weight, and the other ECOS liquid detergent in the catalog is worth checking side by side, since the two listings are close enough that a buyer could easily order the wrong one. Outside the brand, the All Free Clear liquid detergent is the mainstream fragrance free option and the Attitude baby laundry detergent is the closest comparison on positioning. Browse the aisle under liquid detergent, or the unit dose formats under detergent pacs and tablets.

Who should buy it and who should not

Buy it if the Safer Choice certification is what you are looking for, since it is one of the few claims in this catalog backed by a named program with published criteria, and if a soft floral scent suits you. The stated hundred loads per hundred ounces makes cost comparison straightforward.

Do not buy it if you need to confirm high efficiency compatibility from the listing, because it is not stated. Do not read hypoallergenic or climate positive as verified terms, since neither is backed on this page. And do not expect the brightening effect of a mainstream detergent, because nothing here suggests optical brighteners are present.

Additional information

Is Discontinued By Manufacturer

No

Product Dimensions

5 x 3 x 2.5 inches; 6.2 Pounds

Item model number

B004RSOAHU

Manufacturer

Earth Friendly Products